Page suivante

Château Picoron is located in the commune of Sainte-Colombe on slopes descending from the Saint-Émilion limestone plateau and overlooking the Dordogne Valley.
Owing its name to the Latin word picus, meaning "peak", Picoron's elevated position is especially well-suited to growing grapes to produce high quality wines.
Château Picoron benefits from this outstanding location as well as a long, rich history.

Situated next to the estate, the listed Romanesque church in Sainte-Colombe was built on the foundations of a large Gallo-Roman villa dating back to the 3rd century. The existence of wine presses and vats attest to a history of winemaking going back to antiquity. Fine polychrome mosaics testify to the wealth and influence of this exceptional site.

Public archives retrace the continued existence of vineyards dating back to the mid-16th century, and highlight the early decision to focus on winemaking there. These documents confirm the long-standing and privileged relationship between Picoron and wine.

Surrounded by woods and hills, Château Picoron affords a panoramic view that is both impressive and beautiful. A haven of peace, the estate features two attractive buildings.
The historic 18th century manor house opens onto a park with hundred-year-old trees. A former outbuilding at the bottom of the slope used to house horse-drawn carriages has been transformed into a summer house with large bay windows overlooking the surrounding vines.

Page suivante

Château Picoron's terroir – a clay-limestone promontory with both gentle and steep slopes – is particularly conducive to growing wine grapes.
The estate has 4.5 hectares of vines. These are 100% Merlot, the famous Saint-Émilion grape variety. The future introduction of Cabernet Franc in 2019, a grape variety perfectly suited to this terroir, will account for the production of even smoother, more complex wines.
The estate's philosophy is simple yet effective. The vineyards are managed using environmentally-friendly techniques that respect the ecosystem, the terroir, and, of course, the vines. Within the next 5 years, the entire estate will convert to organic viticulture.

The vineyard in the fullness of summer…
... the vineyard in the autumn glare

The grapes are sometimes harvested in several passes in order to achieve optimum ripeness in each plot. They are then transported at controlled temperature to a sorting table before being placed into vat.
Built in 2014 using technology developed for the great growths, the vat room contains 7 small, inverted cone-shaped vats, particularly adapted to plot-by-plot and intra-plot harvesting and fermentation.
The remarkable underground barrel cellar is like a stone treasure chest. It provides the wines with optimal conditions for ageing.
The estate's philosophy continues into the cellar, resulting in the production of all together elegant, well-balanced, and attractive wines.

Emblematic of Château Picoron's terroir, the estate's grand vin receives the upmost care and attention, both in the vineyard and cellar, resulting in powerful, fine, and elegant wines.


The charming and deliciously fruity second wine of Château Picoron receives the same care and attention as the grand vin, displaying its own unique personality.


2014 "Les Terrasses" represents the dawn of the estate renewal. Plot-by-plot harvesting, just like at the finest Burgundian vineyards, can lead to the production of this cuvée in certain vintages.


Page suivante
Mappemonde
canada californie califormie texas france australie Château Picoron wines around the world

Originally from Australia and now dividing their time between Sydney and Sainte-Colombe, Glenda and Frank Kalyk travelled all over France for nearly 35 years before discovering Château Picoron. After leaving her job selling French antique furniture and homewares, Glenda Kalyk considered purchasing a house in France that she would be able to renovate. Glenda and Frank's next journey to France led them to the Bordeaux region, near Saint-Emilion, where they were to find exactly what they were looking for.
"We have not looked back. We love the terroir, the vineyard, the estate, our neighbours, our new friends and this wonderful country. It has been beyond my expectations... I just never can wait to walk around and amongst Chateau Picoron and feel so blessed and lucky that we are here”.
Glenda Kalyk

The château lies behind an iron gate, surrounded by venerable and decorative trees providing a both stately and intimate backdrop. The grounds are an ideal for taking a stroll, receiving guests, or relaxing. They offer majestic views as well as cosy areas where the park gently becomes more of a garden.

The beautiful large manor house dating from 1783 has been entirely renovated. Full of history, yet very welcoming, this noble structure reflects the soul of the estate. The owners, Glenda and Frank Kalyk, regularly stay at the château and decided to open up their residence to guests. The château offers them an outstanding stay or provides an exceptional setting for events and receptions.

 

Be the guests of Glenda & Frank Kalyk

Overlooking vine-covered slopes, the summer pavillon completes the personality of the site. Formerly used to house coaches and renovated in a sober, but comfortable, modern style, it opens onto a stunning view of the surrounding landscape.

 

Welcome to the pavillon

Page suivante

Page suivante

Adossé aux coteaux du plateau calcaire de Saint-Emilion, le Château Picoron est situé au cœur de la commune de Sainte-Colombe qui domine la vallée de la Dordogne.
Issu du latin « picus » (pic), il doit notamment son nom à sa position élevée, particulièrement favorable à la culture de la vigne et à l’élaboration des meilleurs vins.
Remarquable dans sa situation, le domaine de Picoron l’est également dans son histoire.

Bordant la parcelle de vignes qui porte son nom, l’église romane classée de Sainte-Colombe a été bâtie sur les fondations d’une importante villa gallo-romaine datant du IIIe siècle. L’existence de pressoirs et de cuves voués à produire du vin atteste du passé viticole de la propriété depuis l’Antiquité. Trouvées sur place, de fines mosaïques polychromes témoignent de la richesse et du rayonnement d’un lieu très tôt hors du commun.

Au fil du temps, les archives publiques retracent la présence de la vigne en continu depuis le millieu du XVIe siècle, et soulignent le choix précoce et unique de la viticulture. Deux faits remarquables qui poursuivent et confirment la distinction de Picoron et son lien privilégié avec le vin.

Ceint de collines et de bois, le Château Picoron bénéficie de vastes panoramas et de paysages tour à tour grandioses et accueillants. Véritable invitation à la douceur de vivre, la propriété compte deux demeures qui se complètent.
Maison de maître du XVIIIe siècle, le château historique s’ouvre sur le parc aux essences centenaires. En contrebas, une ancienne dépendance pour calèches s’est transformée en pavillon d’été aux larges baies donnant sur les vignes tout alentour.

Page suivante

Sur un promontoire au sol argilo-calcaire, doté d’importantes pentes allongées ou accentuées, le Château Picoron bénéficie d’une situation particulièrement profitable à la vigne.
Le vignoble est constitué de 4,5 hectares de vignes homogènes, intégralement plantées de Merlot, le grand cépage de Saint-Emilion. En 2019, l’introduction de Cabernet Franc, en parfaite adéquation avec le terroir, permettra d’apporter plus de souplesse et de complexité.
La philosophie de la propriété se veut simple et juste. La conduite du vignoble est effectuée dans le respect des écosystèmes, du terroir et de la vigne. Dans les 5 ans à venir, l’intégralité du domaine sera convertie en culture biologique.

Le vignoble dans la plénitude de l’été…
... Le vignoble aux feux de l'automne

Opérée en plusieurs fois si nécessaire selon les parcelles, la vendange est effectuée à maturité complète. Le raisin est acheminé à température constante vers la table de tri puis vers les cuves.
Conçu en 2014 selon les technologies développées au sein des Crus Classés, le cuvier comporte 7 cuves coniques inversées de petite contenance, particulièrement adaptées à l’approche parcellaire et intra-parcellaire du vignoble puis à la vinification.
Enfoui sous la surface, le chai à barriques présente un spectaculaire écrin de pierre qui assure aux vins des conditions d’élevage optimales.
La philosophie au vignoble se poursuit au chai, pour permettre la naissance des vins équilibrés et séduisants, profondément élégants.

Emblématique du terroir de Château Picoron, le Grand Vin de la propriété bénéficie de toutes les attentions, à la vigne comme au chai, pour offrir puissance, finesse et élégance.

Fiche Millésime 2015

A la suite de son aîné, le Second Vin du Château Picoron bénéficie des mêmes attentions pour développer une personnalité qui lui est propre, entre charme, gourmandise et fruité.

Fiche Millésime 2015

« Les Terrasses » 2014 représente l’élan de la transition. L’approche parcellaire qui a cours au domaine, à la manière des climats bourguignons, peut lui redonner naissance lors d’années particulières.

Fiche Millésime 2014
Page suivante
Mappemonde
canada californie califormie texas france australie Les vins du Château Picoron dans le monde

Australiens d’origine, vivant aujourd’hui entre Sidney et Sainte-Colombe, Glenda et Frank Kalyk ont sillonné la France durant près de 35 ans avant de choisir le Château Picoron. C’est après avoir cessé son activité de vente de pièces d’antiquités et de meubles français que Glenda Kalyk s’interroge sur l’idée d’acquérir une maison en France, qu’elle pourrait rénover et décorer. Le voyage suivant les mène en Bordelais près de Saint-Emilion, où tous deux ressentent la même certitude d’avoir trouvé le lieu qu’ils cherchaient.
“Nous ne nous sommes pas retournés, nous aimons le terroir, le vignoble, le domaine, nos voisins, nos nouveaux amis et ce pays merveilleux. Tout dépasse mes attentes… Je suis toujours impatiente de marcher au cœur du domaine, et je me sens à la fois heureuse et chanceuse d’être là.” 
Glenda Kalyk

Les vendanges à Picoron, 2017

Derrière les grilles, entre arbres anciens et essences décoratives, le parc a été dessiné pour offrir un écrin à la fois noble et intime au château. Lieu de promenade, de réception ou de repos, il ménage des points de vue majestueux et des espaces plus réservés, où il devient jardin.

Belle maison de maître aux volumes amples, le château datant de 1783 a été entièrement restauré. Sa noblesse est accueillante, cultivant l’âme d’un lieu de vie à la fois historique et hospitalier. Les propriétaires Glenda et Frank Kalyk, qui séjournent régulièrement au château, souhaitent offrir en partage les charmes de leur résidence : accueillis à leur côté ou en toute autonomie, les privilégiés qui sont reçus vivent une halte exceptionnelle.

 

Evénement ou séjour : Glenda & Frank Kalyk vous reçoivent

Face aux vignes qui s’étirent en coteaux, le pavillon d’été complète la personnalité des lieux. Ancien abri de calèches rénové dans un esprit de confortable modernité, il se distingue par son élégante sobriété et ses volumes largement ouverts sur le spectacle paysager de Picoron.

 

Le pavillon vous accueille

Page suivante